backyard crowing



-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

futuristic mix for dad

fuck.
fuck fuck fuck.
i just typed a fucking entry and whooooops! it erased completely, for

NO FUCKING REASON.

meh. i didn't have anything of interest to say anyway, but i'm still pissed off. fuckers.

there, now i'm fine.

soooooo...

as i was saying, i picked up a paper copy of the fafsa on friday, so i'll be doing that sometime after 11 am tommorow morning, with mom on the line.

and i have about two dine in dollars left, and a mere twenty-one bevocents in my account. that is LAME. i'm freaking out because my grandparents just sent me 100 dollars (in the form of a check) in the mail and now look at me, i can't find the thing. i think i'll be okay until i find it, but corners are being cut. i really want to go participate in girls night tonight, and i know leila is going...but i think i'll pass. too much to do, it's absolutely insane.

oh hey, does anyone know what bu-fu means? here's a quote from frank zappa's song "Valley Girl":

"Like my english teacher
He�s like...
He�s like mr. bu-fu
We�re talking lord God king bu-fu
I am so sure
He�s like so gross
He like sits there and like plays with all his rings
And he like flirts with all the guys in the class
It�s like totally disgusting"

so my guess is that 'bu-fu' means 'gay guy'. huh. how weird, maybe it's an 80s term that i'm too young to know.

leila and i went to dobie mall tonight and had subway. i told her i thought it might be fun to live there, and she cringed. that's okay, it's too expensive for me anyway, and i'm already committed to living on-campus next semester. hopefully i'll get my first choice, brackenridge. i should know on march 1st where i'll be living. man i hope i like where i live next semester, and my roommate too. and i hope she's not 80 pounds...

jeez i am superficial. but really, it's uncomfortable standing next to someone so much physically more attractive than you. not that i'm jealous (although i would like to lose weight), just self-conscious. i've rarely been happy with my body.

on a happier note, i made dad a cd today, dubbed "Futuristic Mix." i don't listen to electronica too often, but i do have a few good songs, and thought i'd share them with him. voila the liner notes:

You may find some songs that don't seem futuristic at all, and when you do...tough. If there is a memorable lyric in one of the songs, I've tried to pick it out. If not, it means I value the song primarily for its musical content.
Warning: After listening to this album, you may need to go find some nice, low-key acoustic songs to consume afterward.

1. Precious - Depeche Mode
Depeche Mode is (I think) an 80s band, but this is a new song of theirs, which I first encountered in seeing a music video.
"If God has a master plan that only he understands, I hope it's your eyes he's seeing through..."

2. Lover I Don't Have To Love - Bright Eyes
This group is indie, and like many others on the album, they have a futurisitc sound without being electronica. I first heard this song in the background of some girl's blog, and couldn't seem to extract it from my brain.
"You write such pretty words, but life's no storybook..."

3. Believe Me Natalie - The Killers
I once saw someone in a chatroom write "The Killers are what MTV wants us to think is indie rock," and I couldn't agree more. This song is from the album "Hot Fuss," which had much success on store shelves. I bought it last year at UTSA, and I have unfortunately never heard this song on the radio, it's one of those overlooked treasures that one never hears live.
"There is an old clich� under your Monet baby..."

4. There's Never Enough Time - The Postal Service
A futurisic mix is NOTHING without at least one song by The Postal Service. The atmospheric band consists of Ben Gibbard of Deathcab for Cutie, and another guy from dntel. The two mailed lyrics and music back and forth before they even met, and practiced each other's songs, collaborating to make the side project. The "real" Postal Service was none too happy with the two of them--that is, until the group arranged to play a free concert at a Postal Service function. Now all is well, and Gibbard is continually surprised by the number of people who buy the new album.
I, however, am not astounded at all, as their songs are diverse and first-rate.
I have heard Postal Service songs in no less than four different commercials which I won't describe here, including a trailer for the indie move "Imaginary Heroes" that made me discover the band.

5. The Edge - Eiffel 65
Eiffel 65 came out with a song in the 90s called "Blue (Da ba dee)" that you may have heard and hated. After the hit they were forgotten, but the album has stayed one of my favorites, and is refreshing for road and plane trips. I'm amazed I haven't yet tired of their music after all these years, my CD has scratches all over its back.
"I've been to the edge, and God knows if I've loved..."

6. Clowns (Can You See Me Now?) - t.A.T.u.
This song can be classified as cheesy dramatic electronica, but I won't. Enjoy.

7. All The Love In The World - Nine Inch Nails
I bought NIN's new CD, "With Teeth" over the summer, and not one of the songs dissapointed me. The lead singer is angry Trent Reznor, a New Orleanian known for his not-so-cheery lyrics. I love the way the song progresses, this guy will blow you away. I could have used any one of his songs for track seven, they're each one brilliant enough.

8. Days Go By - Dirty Vegas
This song was featured on a car commercial a few months ago, so the band gained publicity. Again, another one hit wonder, but an interesting effort nonetheless, and catchy.

9. Moving In Stereo - The Cars
There are very few worthwhile 80s bands, but the Cars definitely deserve a listen, and if you've seen a Circuit City commercial, you've probably heard them. Their hits become annoying after a time (especially "Shake It Up"), but listen to a few less well-known tunes and you'll uncover gold.

10. Cough Coughing - Menomena
Try as I might, I have never found a Menomena album in a non-internet store. I saw the band's name mentioned in a cartoon that I read almost everyday, and decided to go see what they sounded like. Relaxing, and a nice use of piano.

11. Irish Blood, English Heart - Morrissey
Morrissey is from the 80s too (gasp! a THIRD?!) I believe, and he has a weird haircut. You might like this song though, Elyse brought it to my attention.

12. Hunted By A Freak - Mogwai
I think this band is Asian, but I'm not sure where they are from. Another experimental discovery thanks to internet indie rock cartoons. Lovely guitar work! Sounds like someone melodically gargling.

13. Climbatize - Prodigy
Heavy on the fakeness, and less offensive than their big hit "Smack My Bitch Up." Can become somewhat repetitive. Instrumental--er, electrical.

14. Gangsters and Thugs - Transplants
The Transplants take rap, rock, and electronica, and put them in a Kitchen Aid mixer. The result is satisfying, so eat up!

15. Better Off Alone - Alice Deejay
This is the song to play at high school dances. Some of us just need a little help asking a kid to dance, this song attempts to make the task a bit easier. Fun, helps you find your feet.

16. Banquet - Bloc Party
Bloc Party's music is similar to that of Franz Ferdinand, the group they toured under and which let them advance. Quirky and energetic, Bloc Party's songs feature a lead vocalist you may love or hate, and accurate, bright guitars.
"She don't think straight."

17. Speed of Sound - Coldplay
Ahhhhhh, Coldplay. I decided this was a breath of fresh air after Bloc Party, but truly Chris Martin's voice is a welcome sound anytime. Although they are nothing like Nine Inch Nails, the concept is the same in that I would be proud to put any one of their songs as track seventeen on this album.

18. Babylon - David Gray
iTunes says I've listened to this track 79 times...so I think it's pretty good.

"If you want it,
Come and get it
For cryin' out loud
The love that I was
Givin' you was
Never in doubt
Let go your heart
Let go your head
Feel it now
Babylon"

10:43 p.m. - 2006-02-11
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

lovesounds - futuresex

today

about me

vault

notes

dl

e-mail