backyard crowing



-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

lots of lovely quotes

"I like to tell people I have the heart of a small boy. Then I say it's in a jar on my desk." - Stephen King

"Why yes--a bulletproof vest." - James Rodges, murderer, on his final request before the firing squad

"Don't be a statistic." - doesn't every mother say this? i think it's hilarious.

"La solitude est une belle chose; mais il faut quelqu'un pour vous dire que la solitude est une belle chose." - Balzac

"There is no doubt that the first requirement for a composer is to be dead." - Arthur Honegger

"Boredom excites imagination." - Fyodor Dostoevsky

"My imagination makes me human and makes me a fool; it gives me all the world and exiles me from it." - Ursula K. Leguin, author of the wizard of earthsea books

"Skill without imagination is craftsmanship and gives us many useful objects such as wickerwork picnic baskets. Imagination without skill gives us modern art." - Tom Stoppard

"You have to walk carefully in the beginning of love; the running across fields into your lover's arms can only come later, when you're sure they won't laugh if you trip."
-Johnathan Carroll

"Talk not of wasted affection; affection never was wasted." -Henry Wadsworth Longfellow

"Have you ever been in love? Horrible, isn't it? It makes you so vulnerable. It opens your chest and it opens up your heart and it means that someone can get inside you and mess you up. You build up all these defenses, you build up a whole suit of armor, so that nothing can hurt you, and then one stupid person, no different from any other stupid person, wanders into your stupid life...You give them a piece of you. They didn't ask for it. They did something dumb one day, like kiss you or smile at you, and then your life isn't your own anymore. Love takes hostages. It gets inside you. It eats you out and leaves you crying in the darkness, so simple a phrase like 'maybe we should be just friends' turns into a glass splinter working its way into your heart. It hurts. Not just in the imagination. Not just in the mind. It's a soul-hurt, a real gets-inside-you-and-rips-you-apart pain. I hate love." - Neil Gaiman

"Love is an irresistible desire to be irresistibly desired." -Robert Frost

"The road to finding 'the one' is paved with a bit of promiscuity." -Ryan Erickson

"Love is being stupid together." - Paul Velery

"If I lose the light of the sun, I will write by candlelight, moonlight, no light. If I lose paper and ink, I will write in blood on forgotten walls. I will write always. I will capture nights all over the world and bring them to you." - Henry Rollins

"What I like best is a book that's at least funny once in a while...What really knocks me out is a book that, when you're all done reading it, you wish the author that wrote it was a terrific friend of yours and you could call him up on the phone whenever you felt like it. That doesn't happen much, though." - J.D. Salinger

"You say that my way of thinking cannot be tolerated? What of it? The man who alters his way of thinking to suit othere is a fool. My way of thinking is the result of my reflections. It is part of my inner being, the way I am made. I do not contradict them, and would not even if I wished to. For my system, which you disapprove of, is also my greatest comfort in life, the source of all my happiness -it means more to me than my life itself." - Marquis de Sade

"But what is the difference between literature and journalism? ...Journalism is unreadable and literature is not read. That is all." - Oscar Wilde, "The Critic As Artist"

"No tears in the writer, no tears in the reader." - Robert Lee Frost

"The writer is odd from day one and in the course of pursuing this maddening profession becomes distinctly odder... It is not unusual for a successful writer - your favorite, the one you think of as full of sunshine, wisdom and laughter - to spend great portions of his or her life in a state of fury, hideously disappointed, or even raving mad... For a writer it is almost essential to pursue a solitary passion in the open air." - Paul Theroux

"Multiple exclamation marks are a sure sign of a diseased mind." - Terry Pratchett, "Eric" (i am guilty of this)

"It takes only a minute to get a crush on someone, an hour to like someone, and a day to love someone, but it takes a lifetime to forget someone." -Unkown

that last one reminds me of jimmy.

- Saturday, Jun. 10, 2006
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

lovesounds - futuresex

today

about me

vault

notes

dl

e-mail