backyard crowing



-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

pros and cons

Chris L
Adam D
John Something
Brian Something (ACL fest)
Rob F
Patrick A
Glen B
Keith B

Currently: Matt N

Who will my husband be? I've now dated nine guys. I'm tired of short term relationships, but then I want someone who will want New York as much as I do. I wonder if when I go to New York, I'll still be this upended by men everytime I'm into one of them.

Everyone outside of college seems to think it's oh-so-glamorous. What they don't realize is that beyond the pearly towers, quiet strolls through the quad and nights of dancing and drinking lie harsh realities: school, work, friends, relationships, parents, extracurriculars, and the multitude of stressors that accompany these institutions.

The key, mom has said, is to want what you have. Be satisfied with all that you've got. I hope I'm not so depressed in New York. If I have a journalism job, I'm pretty sure I won't be. That just means I need to work extra hard now, which I'm having trouble doing.

I don't know if I have any talent at writing fiction, which is what I'd like to do. I could see myself writing fiction in New York. Or maybe teaching English/Creative Writing through Teach for America? I think I could pull off the "goofy English teacher" role, I've had enough of those to want to become one. I dig the idea of a mad [not scientist] writer for myself. I can see myself in those shoes.

Interesting, that the mate you pick says volumes about who you are and who you want to be. This implies the strongest never marry. At least to me it does...but I'll marry, in time. And I don't mind looking for a husband right now, so long as I don't let it interfere with my grades.

My songs as of late?

"Piece of Me" - Britney Spears - The surprisingly badass, danceable song that goes well with brushing your teeth.

"Something About Us" - Daft Punk - The sad song you listen to when you're not sure what Matt thinks of you, and you're left wondering just how much you like him...or dislike him. Not your typical Daft Punk song. It's slow and wonderfully piano-heavy.

"The Authority Song" - Jimmy Eat World - An awesome song for no reason other than the lyric that says, "I'm not scared anymore." A confidence builder, but not in reference to Matt...in reference to life.

"Icky Thump" - White Stripes - Honestly? You need me to explain this one? Incredible song, that's all I've got.

"Strongest Man In the World" - menomena - This is the perfect song to sober up to. The piano here is simply beautiful; what can I say? Amazing, as menomena never fails to impress. I AM THE FUN BLAME MONSTER! is a great album, do check it out if you haven't already.

Reasons why Matt might not be "the one":

-he doesn't want to live in NY

-he's a follower, he even said "I end up going places at the whim of others," or something like that. Ugh. Sounds like a dependent person. I'd prefer a traveller.

-he's shy

-he doesn't know much about music

-he doesn't write

-he dodged the question, "Do you believe in God?" --which to me says he probably doesn't...oh boy.

-he...doesn't have red hair. But hey, I'm attracted to him, and that's all that matters. Well, at least I think I am. I haven't kissed him yet, not with tongue anyway. After that is the question, I guess. Abby says your lips are supposed to tingle, but she also said that Charlie was a horrible kisser, but she didn't mind that.

Reasons I like him:

-he's not into horror movies

-he doesn't know what his major should be, either--he's making an educated guess

-he doesn't like the small town that he's from

-he likes talking heads/jack black? Is that a reason to like him? A bit of one...

-he paid for my meal, that's nice. he held my hand, that's quite nice. but why didn't he hold it again AFTER dinner?

-he's cute

We'll see what comes of this. hm.

11:01 pm - sunday, Mar. 02, 2008
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

lovesounds - futuresex

today

about me

vault

notes

dl

e-mail