backyard crowing



-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

it makes sense, Maslow

Today I interviewed for a monster movie - G0dzeella versus K0ng II.

I didn't get it, but chalking it up to a learning experience.

The interviewer did 20 interviews of 10 minutes apiece.

That's 200 minutes of interviewing. That's 3 hrs, 20 minutes of interviewing, just about. Kind of a lot, really!

My interview was 8 minutes long, wild.

This whole thing brought to light a few things --

1. You can't really know me in 8 minutes, frankly.

2. He asked about the films I'd seen recently that made a big impression on me. I was preparing to field questions about my capabilities, my past roles, my strengths. Not artistic things, not genre preferences! So my preparation was all wrong for this interview.

3. The very fact that he was talking about films that made an impression on me means that he's not just looking for a Post PA -- he's looking for someone to grow with. Our conversation was not about meal delivery, paperwork, paychecks. It was about film! I hadn't expected that, so I did not prepare for it. I looked for what he had worked on, who he knew, that kind of thing.

4. The EDITOR interviewed me, not the Post Producer. Again...wild.

I'm a bit sad about it, to be honest. This could have been an excellent role.

The only good thing is that now I have my resume prepped, I am realigning with my goals, and I've met with an AE. I've prepped for ONE interview, so I can feel somewhat prepped for my next one.

And -- my resume indicates that I want to be an editor. That's great, because it is what I want.

He and I had improv in common.

It's obvious that sometimes I lose sight of my major goals, because my base needs on Maslow's hierarchy aren't being met. Of COURSE I'll forget about editing, when I am living in this barely livable apartment. It makes total sense that I'd forget my main purpose. It makes sense.

My next steps...

Keep looking for a different role. Learn and review AE materials. Don't end your own life. And continue on with your hobbies.

7:10 pm - Monday, Feb. 27, 2023
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

lovesounds - futuresex

today

about me

vault

notes

dl

e-mail