backyard crowing



-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

on not getting your feelings hurt

I was on one of the job boards, this one called staffmeup, when I found this gem of a story:

"I got lucky had a distant family friend who was a camera op on a large set. I had some small scale experience but nothing noteworthy. I met the camera op over e-mail, he invited me to shadow him on set one day. I knew I wouldn't get pulled into camera off the bat, so I scoped out one of the AD's, and handed him a business card I had just made. Short sweet and to the point I told him, 'I've got experience, if you need another hand, please call me.' He barely even acknowledged me as he shoved it in his pocket and walked off. Got a call at 3AM the next day to be at the studios in an hour, and that was my lucky break.

I tell you that story to maybe articulate the go-getter mentality needed. Try and find someone who is already in and see what they can do to help. Everyone has been 'there' before. Someone will help you, and if not, go get it. I know LA has a reputation to us east-coasters as being hard to break into, but I would suggest shooting to PA anywhere and everywhere. Eventually someone will recognize your name and hire you."

What struck me about this story was how dismissive the AD was -- and yet, the main character still got hired. It means that when people treat me like this, I can have the attitude of, "Well, you may not want me now, but you may NEED me later."

A great lesson to learn.

Another great quote from the comments about breaking in:

"This is a war of attrition."

Historically speaking, I'm pretty good at those.

"Attrition warfare is a military strategy consisting of belligerent attempts to win a war by wearing down the enemy to the point of collapse through continuous losses in personnel and material. The war will usually be won by the side with greater such resources."

-Ye Olde Google

11:14 am - Saturday, Dec. 16, 2017
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

lovesounds - futuresex

today

about me

vault

notes

dl

e-mail